COVA Reflection and Application

 

pexels-photo-2566581.jpeg
Photo by Visual Tag Mx on Pexels.com

 

Being in the DLL program at Lamar University has been a journey I never thought I would take, let alone succeed in, however here I am only a few weeks away from graduation and saddened at the fact that this chapter of my life is coming to an end. There is so much to say, share, think, feel and so little space to write it in but I shall do my best to say all great things about this program, it’s unique COVA approach and how creating a significant learning environment plays an important part in learning.

I always think back to the first course and how we started with the Growth Mindset. I remember thinking to myself “that’s it? That’s all it takes to be successful is to think a different way and know that I can continue learning even at an old age?” But it wasn’t that simple as I would come to learn through that first course. The idea was simple yes, however, applying the ideologies that Carol Dweck stated to us were far from each. I had to continue to practice the Growth Mindset each and every day. Even during the tough times of learning, teaching, work, and being a husband and father to three, it did get rough many times and I thought about quitting. Once I was able to compose myself, talk to my wife and reflect things would get better and that’s when I later realized how the Growth Mindset worked.

It wasn’t until course 5305 were I was in control of all that I did and was seeing the benefits of a COVA approach. 5305 for me was probably the toughest course that I encountered yet one of my favorites. Being able to decided what would be be my innovation plan was amazing and there were plenty of ideas going through my head. I wanted to ask Dr. Harapnuik what he though would be a good plan, but he would always go back to the same idea. I remember him saying it’s my plan, I can make it whatever I want, however I want, and he was there to help guide my thinking. This, although a shock to most, was a small shock to me but it was important and was something I’d been looking for rather than a traditional model of teaching.

My innovation plan for the most part has played out differently then expected. I was terrified to present the plan and even more terrified at putting it into action, so you could say I did it just because it was required for this course. However, eventually I found the right moment and put it into play. The outcome was good, although it could have been better planned out. Students were to create an ePortfolio and reflect on their learning experience over the school year. Students had choice in how they presented the information and what platform they would present it on.

Some chose to do a physical portfolio and others created a digital one. I reflected on the process on my blog post, “Student Created ePortfolios”. What I loved most about the experience is that it was different for students, and they didn’t expect it. A lot of them said “can we just take a test?” and my response would be what would a test be measuring? One of my favorite quotes from Dr. Harapnuik is “get comfortable with being uncomfortable” so I wanted to challenge the students and have them do something completely different than what they were used to.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Surprisingly, our ePortfolio project made waves throughout the school and my Principal even had me present the project at one of our  meetings in September where I talked about what we did, and how it was different. I talked about how it gave students choice and put the learning in their hands while giving them an authentic learning experience. This is different then what I initially wanted for my plan, although it has gotten the ball rolling. I could definitely see myself leading a professional development on ePortfolio design.

On my campus, it’s been a journey trying to implement positive change. There are many teachers who I hear say things about “new initiatives” and how on our campus, they come and go. While putting the ePortfolio plan into play has been a struggle, I am working on creating a significant learning environment. Students do not learn through a “sit and get” method. They need to interact, collaborate, engage, think, fail and succeed in order to truly learn.

I recently have opened my classroom for my peers to come and observe several lessons that I’ve implemented such as a blended-learning method, and a Socratic seminar. I would have never even thought to open up my room and have peers give feedback, but here I am at the end of the DLL program, and am more confident than ever in creating these fun environments, engaging in learning and even facilitating professional development opportunities.

I remember where I started, and I am proud of how far I’ve come. I’ve learned and created so much and it seems like this is just the beginning. I created an ePortfolio that I can use forever. I learned new tools and strategies to help make change on my campus through crucial conversations, 4DX model, BHAG, and created several outlines for planning. I put my plan into action and looked at research to support it. I researched my plan in global aspects and compared it to what’s happening in education today. I became a digital citizen and created videos to teach others how to become digital citizens while making sure they use online resources effectively. I also worked on getting an article published that focuses on Project Based Learning and working on wrapping it all up.

I’ve been met with some push back on my ideas and even push back within myself, lacking confidence I need. All I can do is continue to work towards positive change while continuing to work on myself to build that confidence and continue to open up my classroom for others to come observe. I must be doing something right if my principal and admin staff are asking about our ePortfolio project from last year, moving towards more Project Based Learning.

I’m eager to continue my journey as a learner and change my students’ mindsets about learning. It is a tough process to shift their thinking and not look for what I want, rather what helps them best learn while moving away from getting a perfect grade. If I can continue to challenge these traditional models of learning, then I feel I’m moving in the right direction. I also will continue pursuing leadership opportunities, pushing myself out of my comfort zone then taking what I learned and sharing it with my colleagues,.

While this course is close to an end, it is only a part in my continuous journey while being a life-long learner. I plan to take and utilize all that I’ve learned and hopefully share my learning with others. I’m thankful for all the relationships I’ve built, the time and work I’ve put into this program, because I never thought I would go back to school, and hopeful for the future opportunities I will encounter. I know I am ready for anything that comes my way.

References:

Dweck. C (2016) Mindset The New Psychology of Success Updated Edition Ballantine Books

Dweck. C (2006-2010) Change your mindset: How can you change from a fixed-mindset to a growth-mindset? Retrieved from http://mindsetonline.com/changeyourmindset/firststeps/

Fink, L. D. (2013). Creating significant learning experiences: An integrated approach to designing college courses. John Wiley & Sons.

Harapnuik, D., Thibodeaux, T., & Cummings, C. (2018). Choice, Ownership, and Voice through Authentic Learning

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment